Group-Photo-WebThe IUCN SSC Pangolin Specialist Group is a voluntary network of experts from around the world including field biologists, social scientists, zoologists, veterinarians, ecologists and geneticists, all of whom are actively involved in pangolin research and conservation.

We are an advisory body to IUCN and currently have around 100 members from 25 countries around the globe.

The Pangolin Specialist Group was re-established in February 2012 in recognition of the widespread threats to pangolins globally and to address the lack of understanding of the species and their conservation needs.


Our Mission

The Pangolin Specialist Group’s mission is to:

To work within the framework of the IUCN SSC to secure a future for wild pangolins through advancing knowledge on pangolin status, threats and conservation priorities, and by catalysing action to conserve them.



The Pangolin Specialist Group’s overarching objective is to serve as leaders in pangolin conservation globally by:

  • Assessing the conservation status of pangolins for the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
  • Providing advice to IUCN and other conservation stakeholders
  • Catalysing and undertaking scientific research to learn more about pangolins, the nature and severity of their threats, and to devise appropriate conservation actions
  • Contributing to multilateral environmental agreements on pangolin related issues (e.g. CITES)
  • Developing global conservation strategies and supporting the development of species-specific, national and regional conservation strategies
  • Providing technical support to pangolin research and conservation projects and advising on captive husbandry, rescue and release protocols.



Dr. Daniel W. S. Challender

Darren Pietersen
Helen Nash
Keri Parker
Lisa Hywood
Paul Thomson
Thai Van Nguyen

Programme Officer & IUCN Red List Authority Co-ordinator: Carly Waterman
Programme Officer (maternity cover): Helen O’Neill
Research Intern: Jasmin Willis

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Pangolin Specialist Group, please click here to find out more.



We are extremely grateful to the following for their support:

Institutional supporters
Zoological Society of London – hosts the Pangolin Specialist Group

Financial supporters
Zoological Society of London – funds our part-time Programme Officer, Research Intern and designed and hosts the Pangolin Specialist Group website
Wildlife Reserves Singapore – hosted the first Pangolin Specialist Group Conservation Conference in June 2013

First Pangolin Specialist Group Conservation Conference, Singapore, 2013
Wildlife Reserves Singapore Conservation Fund
Ocean Park Conservation Foundation, Hong Kong
Houston Zoo
San Antonio Zoo

First Pangolin Range States Meeting
United States Fish and Wildlife Service – supported the attendance of members of the Pangolin Specialist Group at the First Pangolin Range States Meeting

We thank our former interns, Katie Wells, Lydia Katsis, Hannah Khwaja and Claire Buchan, and all of our individual donors for their ongoing support.



Click below to see a list of the IUCN SSC Pangolin Specialist Group members or visit the Members’ Project page to find out more about their work protecting pangolins.

Aakash Lamba, India
Alegria Olmedo, UK
Alexis Kriel, South Africa
Ambika Khatiwada, Nepal
Animesh Ghose, Bangladesh
Annette Olsson, Cambodia
Antoinette Kotze, South Africa
Ara Monadjem, Swaziland
Bhau Katdare, India
Bruno Nebe, Namibia
Carla Louise Mousset Moumbolou, Gabon
Carly Waterman, UK
Chris Ransom, UK
Chris Shepherd, Canada
Chung Tong Shek, Hong Kong
Claire Buchan, UK
Dan Challender, UK
Dan Ingram, UK
Daniel Willcox, Vietnam
Darren Pietersen, South Africa
Debbie Shaw, UK
Diogo Verissimo, UK
Douglas Hendrie, Vietnam
Durojaye Soewu, Nigeria
Elisa Panjang, Malaysia
Ellen Connelly, Zimbabwe
Elliot Newton, UK
Esua Fossung, Cameroon
Fakhar Abbas, Pakistan
Faraz Akrim, Pakistan
Francis Tarla, Cameroon
Gary Ades, Hong Kong
Gono Semiadi, Indonesia
Hannah Khwaja, UK
Helen Nash, Singapore
Helen O'Neill, UK
Hem Katuwal, Nepal
Hongying Li, US/China
Hugues Akpona, Benin
Ichu Ichu Godwill, Cameroon
Jaap Reijngoud, Holland
James Compton, Vietnam
Jason Chin, Taiwan
Jeff Flocken, USA
Jerry Mbi Kirensky, Cameroon
Jimmy Lee, Malaysia
Jonas Kambale Nyumbu, Cameroon
Jonathan Baillie, USA
Ju lian Chong, Malaysia
Katie Wells, UK
Keboy Mov Linkey Iflankoy Claude, DR Congo
Keri Parker, USA
Lalita Gomez, Malaysia
Leanne Wicker, Vietnam/Australia
Levita Lagrada, Philippines
Ling Xu, China
Linh Bao, Cameroon
Lisa Hywood, Zimbabwe
Louise Fletcher, Vietnam
Lydia Katsis, UK
Madhu Rao, Singapore
Markus Handschuh, Cambodia
Masood Arshad, Pakistan
Maxwell Boakye, Ghana
Nguyen The Truong An, Vietnam
Nicci Wright, South Africa
Nick Min, Taiwan
Norman Lim, USA/Singapore
Olufemi Sodeinde, USA
Paolo Martelli, Hong Kong
Paul de Ornellas, UK
Paul Thomson, USA
Peter Riger, USA
Phillippe Gaubert, France
Prativa Kaspal, Nepal
Priyan Perera, Sri Lanka
Rachel Hoffmann, UK
Rajesh Mohapatra, India
Ray Jansen, South Africa
Razak Jaffar, Singapore
Rebbecca Drury, UK
Reg Hoyt, USA
Riaz Hussain, Pakistan
Rod Cassidy, Central African Republic
Ruben Holland, Germany
Russell Mittermeier, USA
Sabine Schoppe, Philippines
Sarah Durant, UK
Sarah Heinrich, Australia
Scott Roberton, Vietnam
Scott Trageser, Bangladesh
Sean Heighton, South Africa
Shaista Andleeb, Pakistan
Shavez Cheema, Brunei Darussalam
Somanak Peov, Cambodia
Sone Nkoke, Cameroon
Sonja Luz, Singapore
Stewart Muir, UK
Tariq Mahmood, Pakistan
Thai Nguyen Van, Vietnam
Thomas Bruce, UK/Cameroon
Tim Davenport, Tanzania
Tulshi Laxmi Suwal, Nepal
Wangchuk Sonam, Bhutan
Wendy Panaino, South Africa
Will Duckworth, UK
Withoon Sodsai, Thailand
Wu Shi Bao, China
Yang Li, China